Adrenaline and anxious thoughts

Australian palm tree

Australian palm tree is hiding the sun

From Denmark to Australia. Melbourne is going to be my new home for the next year and half. Kangaroos, sandy beaches and barbecues awaits me. Join me on my Trans-Atlantic journey!

There’s a window ajar to the street. I can hear two drunken voices in the night. The warm, moist air from outside reaches my bed and mingles with the cool air from the air-con above my head. The air tastes different and feels warmer. The bed is much harder than my own and people are snoring and grunting around me. I’m trying to abstract from this and isolate their noises. I’m very focused on falling asleep, which makes it even harder. There’s just too many thoughts going through my head.

I wonder what this room looks like in bright daylight, who the other people are, how the weather is in Melbourne, if I will know which train to catch and if I will meet any nice people at uni tomorrow. I also wonder if I still have some of that muesli bar I bought from Denmark or if there’s just crumbles left all over my bag by now! I could actually eat something now. Argh… Just go to sleep Thea!

It’s only been two hours since the driver from La Trobe Uni picked me up at the airport and dropped me off at the hostel, right in the heart of Melbourne. It’s only 3am and I just can’t fall asleep. Feeling a little lonely and far away from home, can make it hard to rest in this new and exciting place.

Having finally arrived to Australia there are so many thoughts going through my mind. There are so many things that need to be explored and my body is overtired and running on adrenaline after the 26-hour long flight. This is going to be my home for the next 1 1/2 years and I can’t wait to get started on this new chapter of my life. First I need to think about apartment hunting and then I have to attend international week at uni.

Leave a Reply

