Hello, Goodbye

Hey there,

After what was hopefully a relaxing and enjoyable Easter break, I hope you all are doing well, are settled into your course and feel relatively sound with what you’re doing at La Trobe.

As you are probably aware, Census date passed on the 4th of April, the deadline for finalising your course and subject details, before incurring a HECS debt for anything that you did not wish to be enrolled in.
For me, census date was a big deal. It was a date that loomed over my head, and pressured me to make a decision about what I was going to do with myself for the rest of the year.

If you read my first blog piece, you might remember that even from O-Week and Weeks 1 & 2, I had a very strong feeling of “What am I doing here?” and I have to say that for me, this feeling didn’t really settle down much at all. I had spent so much time preparing myself for the first few weeks of uni, being meticulously organised, doing all of the recommended pre-study, and making sure I was always at least ten minutes early for all of my lectures and workshops, which I think was all kind of my way of distracting myself from thinking about what was actually going on in my head. I sent myself into a mini-stressed-out-frenzy to avoid contemplating that maybe, just maybe, I didn’t want to be doing the course I was in, and perhaps, I didn’t even want to be at uni at all…. This was scary. It was really terrifying to think that what I had planned out for myself wasn’t actually what I wanted to be doing, at least, not right now anyway.

After being brave enough to start this conversation with my parents (who are amazing and supportive, just quietly), the next question arose of ‘Well, what DO you want to do?’ – Ah. I don’t really know – and queue becoming stressed about what to do instead. To cut a long story short, I decided that there is no point in putting myself through a course which goes against my gut instinct of what I feel is going to engage and inspire me, and make me happy. So I enrolled at a different institute to go and study fitness for the next six months instead. Something not completely, but almost entirely different to my original planned nursing studies.

Before making my decision final by withdrawing from my course at La Trobe, I made an appointment for a ‘Careers Consultation’ phone appointment through the Uni and also went along to the ‘Drop-In’ session held by my faculty in the last week before the Easter break. Both of these sessions facilitated by the uni were enormously helpful. Despite my house-mate’s fears that they were going to try and talk me into staying at La Trobe, even after I’d more or less made my decision to not to, the opposite couldn’t be more true. Both of the members of staff who I had a discussion with were very supportive of my decision, and even commended it. They both reinforced in my mind that it is OK to leave uni for now if I’m still unsure of what it is that I really want to do, and if I don’t feel ready for studying at uni just now. They both discussed that there is the opportunity to return to La Trobe next year, and gave me permission to explore my options and gain more of an insight to what I feel I’m interested in studying over the remainder of this year.

So a big decision, but one that I’m very happy I’ve made. I’ve now officially deferred from my studies at La Trobe for the remainder of this year, and may or may not return in 2014. I hope that you are all happy with whatever decisions you’ve made about studying this year, as in the end I think you can only do what you feel is right for you personally, and what makes you happy.

Have a great year guys ☺

Signing off,

Isobel xoxo

5 thoughts on “Hello, Goodbye

  1. Sonia says:

    Isobel, I am really proud of you making that final choice. It’s such a personal decision and to seek help on what to do next is not an easy one. I too deferred for a year after my 1st year into nursing at La trobe due to family reasons and am back into my 3rd year of Nursing. Once that decision was actually finalised I felt a huge relief but still knowing there are options open I was confident in taking the step. I hope you find your calling and if Nursing isn’t one of them you are on the right track.

  2. Hannah says:

    Good on you for listening to your instincts, and really taking the time to speak with people who could give you some advice – I think it takes a lot of guts, and I wish you all the best, whatever you do with your precious time and energy.

Leave a Reply

