The 3rd floor of the library

*cue dramatic music*

As most of you probably know by now, the 3rd floor of the library is for silent study. And it’s also one of the few places that you’re likely to find a table to work at. I’ve been going there a lot recently, not just to do work, but to enjoy the silence. Whilst I enjoy this, there are certain aspects that I do not enjoy. For starters: when you first arrive and have to unpack all your stuff. I spent a good minute yesterday trying to open my pencil case quietly because I’m so paranoid about disturbing the peaceful study. It feels as if though, the harder I tried to be quiet, the more noise I made, like accidentally kicking the wall behind the desk, not once, not twice but three times!

However, once you settle down it really is a great place to get some work done. No distractions, just uninterrupted study…that is until the next person decides to come and study on the 3rd floor. Then the whole section has to listen to them organizing their things because in the silence, sound like that travels.

But hey, if you can get over that few seconds of awkwardness of the other people in the study-carrels evil-eyeing you for disturbing the peace, then I would highly recommend that for a study spot. This university is so big it’s unlikely they would be anyone you know anyway.

Anyway, that’s my two cents for the week! Stay tuned for next time, where I’ll rant about people with umbrellas.

Oh wait! I almost forgot. The La Trobe University Student Union: join it. Check out this sausage in bread I got today for free, just for being a member: Image

Leave a Reply

