So, this is it

End of semester one, (almost), already?

Wasn’t it just yesterday that I was getting completely soaked in the rain during O-Week?*
Walking into the wrong classes?
Submitting my first assignment?
Feeling lost in a sea of unfamiliarity?

Well, no. It wasn’t yesterday.
It was probably 3 or so months ago.
And now it’s holiday time… (almost)

I’m glad I made the decision to come to La Trobe, fresh out of year 12, to study what I love.

First taste of uni highlights:
– Meeting some wonderful people
– Long bus rides alone
– Getting coffee. All the time
– Placement
– That bit of extra freedom
– Receiving marks I’m proud of
– Studying what I love
– The ability to take control of my future
– Feeling more ‘grown up’ than I probably should… I’m totally still a kid, sometimes
– Not having school every day 🙂
– English

& lowlights:
– Being exposed to the unruly earthly elements to and from uni
– The separation of friends
– Getting coffee. All the time
– Never having enough time
– Cramming. However, I’m the Cram Master
– All of the readings. That I’m still yet to complete. And will most likely never get to… (not recommended!)
– Becoming a hobo

I will grasp each experience with both hands and allow them to guide me through the next 3.5 years. I will become a better uni student. I will start again next semester.

Semester Two – Declaration to Self:
I promise…
To be more organised.
To complete assignments ahead of time.
To go to my lectures.
To actually attempt to complete my readings.
To participate more in class discussions.
To go out of my way to meet more people, and continue friendships.
To do my very best.

Tip #7
Take each day as it comes. With regards to everything.
Your studies, family matters, life, etc.

I recently found out that my gorg mother is unwell.
But we know she’ll be better. Because she’s the best. And the best people need to last forever. Rather than welcoming the frantic stress and worry that’s expected, we’re taking it one day at a time. And making each day count.

So, I’d encourage you to start each day afresh.
Falling behind with your studies? Get out of bed and go to the library!
Don’t waste another day. The day is given to you for a reason. Use it wisely.

From those last minute cramming sessions, to befriending a former stranger, I’ve truly embraced every moment of uni life, so far.

In the mean time, it’s time for me to say goodbye.
Adios, au revoir, arrivederci, selamat tinggal.

Enjoy life

xxx Tori

*I purchased a $6.00 umbrella from Safew.. uhm, Woolworths.
It’s black.
Because I’m all class..

Leave a Reply

