Shout out to all the mums

I’ve only been living away from home for seven weeks but I’ve already learnt one important lesson. Mum is right about almost everything! I hate to admit it and I’m really hoping she never reads this but I honestly don’t know what I would’ve done without her.

In the months and weeks leading up to moving away, she constantly shared little words of wisdom about anything from dirty washing to the different people I’ll meet and environment I’ll live in. Each time I rolled my eyes and brushed her off. It wasn’t until I found myself ringing her to ask her if the turkey I bought 5 days ago would still be ok to eat I realised how much she actually does help me.

“The city is very different to the country you know, you’re going to meet so many different people from different backgrounds and you aren’t going to get along with all of them. That’s just life.” Safe to say I rolled my eyes at this piece of advice but after three weeks of living here I realised that she was right. Mum – 1 Gabby- 0.

“Whatever you do, don’t wash your black clothes with your white ones, it’ll save time but your white clothes will soon turn grey”. It’s been seven weeks and I now have five grey clothes (that were originally white) mum proves she’s right once again. Mum-2 gabby-0.

“You’re at uni now and it might take you awhile to find a job so don’t spend your savings on things you don’t need, yes I mean shoes!” I realised mum was right about this when I looked at my wardrobe and then at my savings account in week 5…mum-3 gabby-0.

I could write a novel on all the things mum has been right about and it’s only mid-semester. Since mother’s day is just around the corner, there’s no better time to tell your mum or a mother figure how much you appreciate her. It doesn’t matter how just do it! If you don’t like to admit she’s right to her face, in fear of hearing “I told you so!” Then do what I did, buy a nice vintage card write it in words and send it in the mail.

Gabby

2 thoughts on “Shout out to all the mums

Leave a Reply

