Uni is changing my life

Hey there chums!

I don’t know about you but these last few weeks have been completely and utterly life changing. Not only are we as first years all going through a new phase in our lives but we are also gaining new experiences and constantly challenging ourselves, or at least I am.

I recently just moved from the beautiful tropics of Far North Queensland to Bendigo and let me tell you, it’s not just the scenery that’s different. For me, my whole world is different. More than I ever thought possible. I feel like I’ve stepped into an alternate reality, watching myself through a screen.

In the past four months I have moved out of home, away from my hometown, away from friends, family, my job and my high school.  Now I’m living in my own home, spending my weekends shopping for furniture and kitchen supplies, driving my recently purchased car, going to university and learning how to provide for myself.

This is a huge step for someone like me. I had to make a choice to either stay or go. It was either all or nothing, and I couldn’t let it be nothing. So now my new life is exciting, invigorating, stressful and challenging in more ways than one, but I wouldn’t do it any other way.

Lately I’ve found myself feeling an overwhelming sense of inspiration. I’m becoming more and more passionate about the things I’m doing, the people I’m meeting and the places I’m going. I keep telling myself over and over again, this is exactly where I’m supposed to be.

This moment here and now is the beginning of a hopefully long and worthwhile journey. It is my goal this year to prove myself to all those who ever doubted me, to live a life I desperately want to live and experience everything worth experiencing.

I may sound like a typical newbie to the big wide world but I don’t care. This is my chance to learn, explore and grow despite all odds.

Oh and lucky for me Latrobe will be a huge part of this journey so fingers crossed it treats me well!

– Findingkira

Leave a Reply

