Holiday musings

Over the Mid Semester break I found a new internet obsession, one that I really don’t feel so bad looking at when I know I’m meant to be doing work. Photographer Brandon Stanton starting taking photographs of people in New York in the summer of 2010, since then the ‘Humans of New York’ project has flourished and now includes quotes and short stories from the people he has photographed. If you haven’t checked his website out then I strongly suggest you do!

The website has everything, images and quotes from the young and old that will make you laugh one minute and cry the next. Most of the time though, it puts a lot of things into perspective, reading about survivors of war, people who are struggling to fit into society and people who have come from nothing and worked hard to make their lives what it is now has made me realise how lucky I am to live the life I do. It makes you appreciate our country, freedom of speech, our access to education and basic necessities and if you’re like me, a supportive and loving family.

If you’re looking for something to cure your boredom then I urge you to check out his website, Facebook or Twitter page, it’s amazing what you can learn from strangers in everyday life and it has definitely made me more grateful for everything I have.

I hope you also take something away from it.

Below is the link to the website

http://www.humansofnewyork.com/

Gabby

Leave a Reply

