Hello there fellow bloggers!

My name is Bianca Anderson and I am delighted to join the team here at First Year Blog. I am starting my first year here at Bendigo La Trobe doing my Bachelor of Education.
During O-Week, I asked some fellow first years how they found their experiences. Lucy Gemmill and Emma McGregor share their stories below.

Lucy Gemmill:

What course are you studying and why did you choose it?
I am studying a Bachelor of Business (Accounting), and I chose to do it because in the future I want to work in finance or as an accountant.

How did you feel on your first day of O-Week?
I was quite nervous, just because I didn’t know what to expect. Everyone says that university is a lot different to high school and I didn’t know what they really meant.

Did the fact that Bendigo La Trobe is a regional campus help you decide that it was the campus for you? If so why?
Yes, mainly because it would allow me to still live at home, and travel to school everyday. I am a small-town country girl and the Bendigo campus allowed me to stay in the lifestyle I like, whilst also giving me a taste of the city.

What is your favourite thing about the Bendigo Campus?
I really love that I has a really huge library and that there are different areas depending on how you want to work – quiet areas for quiet study and areas specifically for group work.

How do you deal with stress?
During year 12, I had a really hard time dealing with stress, but I have learned that if I am really stressed out, I need to back away from what I am doing and read a book or listen to some music.

Do you have any advice for students looking to start at Bendigo Latrobe?
Definitely come to campus tours and the Experience La Trobe day, so that you get to have a look around the university before you come to study.

Emma McGregor:

What course are you studying and why?
I’m studying a Bachelor of Education (P-12), and I chose this course because it’s something I’ve always wanted to do, and because becoming a teacher will enable me to help shape the future generations into a better society.

What do you think of the Bendigo campus?
I really love this campus! The campus has the right amount of city life and country life mixed together. Also, the general inclusive quality of the students and staff make it feel like home.

Is there anything you are nervous about going into your first year of University life?
The most nerve wracking thing about starting my first year was moving out of home and being away from my family for the first time.

What is your favourite thing about the Bendigo Campus?
My favourite thing about the campus is how everyone is always making sure that everyone is getting involved and having a good time, especially during O-Week.

Any advice for students looking to start at Bendigo La Trobe next year?
Just make sure, especially over O-Week, that you join in and make the most of it.

So much like the lovely girls above, I had a blast at O-Week. I will admit, it was daunting walking around trying not to get lost, and the stairs killed me at first; but I am so excited now that I can’t wait to start studying!
Stay Cool =D
Bianca.

Leave a Reply

