Meg Takes Melbourne #03 – Melbourne, the greatest teacher you could ask for.

So I’m back again for the second week in a row! I thought this little double shot (coffee puns, get it?!) of my experiences in the big smoke would be a great way to share what I’ve learnt so far from my time in Melbourne.

Coffee isn’t all that bad.

It’s become a renowned fact that Melbourne is the coffee capital of the world; you can almost smell it wandering through the streets. I decided to ‘accentuate my palette’ give coffee an actual crack, and I must admit I was pleasantly surprised. Although to my disappointment my inner adult didn’t suddenly emerge from the depths; pantsuit and briefcase in hand, rather I felt I finally was beginning to become a city local. But serious question – WHY ARE THERE SO MANY DIFFERENT KINDS OF COFFEE? ISN’T IT JUST ALL THE SAME INGREDIENTS???

Walk fast.

I come from a slow-paced environment. When there’s nothing going on, you can afford to have a bit of a stroll. But especially in the CBD of `Melbourne, there is not one second wasted on taking in the atmosphere. To be able to process everything around me was impossible, and there was too much for my easily distracted mind to focus on.

Look a tram! Wow, a busker! So many pretty things!

Don’t get lost in the crowd, you can take it all in later at some of the beautiful gardens and spots that surround Melbourne.

I solemnly swear I am…never driving in Melbourne.

If I can’t even walk myself around the city without my mind being overly stimulated from all the activity, then actually driving in the city is bound to cause an accident. If my driving down Plenty Rd is anything to go by, my skills are literally screaming that I would never be able to cope in the city. Public transport may be more of a nuisance than a blessing at times, but it is by far worth it. Unfortunately, I will just have to contain my in-car karaoke to myself.

Finally, don’t be afraid to be THAT person.

One thing that would always annoy me when I came into Melbourne as a kid was that people were always taking photographs of the city. “Why are you taking photos of boring buildings?” I would ask myself. “It isn’t even that nice to look at!”

Melbourne – the iPhone photographer’s dream. (Am I a professional yet?)

post 3.jpg

Now that everyone has professional-quality camera on them at all time in the form of an iPhone, it’s even more common to see a person taking a random snap or fifty. I’ve decided to embrace my photographer side, no less thanks to writing for this very blog, and it’s probably helped me learn the biggest lesson of all – take the opportunity. Melbourne is the hub of trying something new and something different, and by putting in the effort in such a vibrant place will reap rewards. It’s easy to imagine Melbourne as the gloomy-four-seasons-in-one-day-constantly-raining-greyscale city, but by making the most out of any time you step foot into the streets of the urban life it will make your experience worth it.

By Meg Kennedy

Leave a Reply

