Meg Takes Melbourne #05 – Starting off the semester with Selena Gomez and The 1975.

After spending my mid-year break binge watching too much Netflix and not seeing enough daylight for accurate Vitamin D absorption, it was finally time to return to the white halls of Menzies College to begin my second semester at La Trobe University.

Although by now I like to no longer consider myself a ‘Jaffy’ (if you don’t know what that means, ask your nearest college friend), I must confess that part of me felt like I was beginning the year all over again – new lecturers and tutors, new classmates and new classrooms, forcing me to dust off the ol’ ‘Lost on Campus’ app and subtly pretend I knew exactly where I was going.

But the arrival of a new semester wasn’t just met with stress and an overdose of coffee, I was also lucky enough to return to my beloved Melbourne for some great concerts.

First off was The 1975, who are one of my favourite bands and was lucky enough to see them a second time this year. I last saw them at one of my favourite Melbourne music venues, Festival Hall, but this time around Matty Healy’s energy on stage is incredible and their live shows always make me feel as though I’m on top of the world.

Fast forward two weeks and I am officially living out the dream of my 12-year-old self, where Selena Gomez and Joe Jonas’ band DNCE played Margaret Court Arena. I managed to stand in the second row (!!) and captured some amazing pictures and videos and even as I’m writing this I want to relive the concert all over again.

post 1 photo 1post 1 photo 2

One thing I’ve noticed at concerts lately is that musicians really do love the Melbourne music scene.

No matter how big or small the venue, from Rod Laver Arena to Max Watts, there is always an incomparable energy in the air no matter what. Melbourne is home to some amazing talent, whether it be the busker on the side of the street to international pop stars who have come to Australia for the first time on an area tour. As music is a huge passion of mine, to be able to live in a city where that is accessible but also widely celebrated is more than I could ask for.

I hope everyone had a great start to Semester 2, and I hope your study playlists are going strong!

By Meg Kennedy 

Leave a Reply

